Fan Ho (何藩)

This post is not about me, but is another person work that I often go back to. His work has inspired many people, and it continue to inspire me. Everytime I go back to his books, I found new things to pick up. I want to share this inspiration, and I hope it inspire you too.

I will let his photographs do the talk, and I will share some resources at the end of the post. I have no affiliation to any resources, I just wish to share about the photographer who inspire me. There are more resources out there, and I highly recommend you to find out more. In my opinion, his work is timeless, moving, and at times daunting.

Fan Ho (何藩). More information: Fan Ho, Modernbook. Images credited to: PetaPixel, South China Morning Post

living theater14
© Fan Ho

living theater05
© Fan Ho

hong-kong-black-and-white-street-photography-ho-fan-1
© Fan Ho

street-photography-hong-kong-memoir-fan-ho-261
© Fan Ho

street-photography-hong-kong-memoir-fan-ho-41
© Fan Ho

Private, 1960
© Fan Ho

street-photography-hong-kong-memoir-fan-ho-341
© Fan Ho

living theater07
© Fan Ho

hong kong yesterday07
© Fan Ho

hong kong yesterday08
© Fan Ho

hong kong yesterday09
© Fan Ho

hong kong memoir01
© Fan Ho

hong-kong-black-and-white-street-photography-ho-fan-24
Fan Ho (何藩)

If you collect photography book, you might want to look at his new publication: A Hong Kong Memoir. I look forward to add this to my small library.

References:
1. Burgett, G. (2014, August 25). Fan Ho’s Fantastic Black-and-White Street Photographs of 1950s Hong Kong. PetaPixel. Retrieved from http://petapixel.com/2014/08/25/fan-hos-incredible-black-and-white-street-photography-of-1950s-hong-kong/

2. Nip, A. (2014, August 11). Street life: Hong Kong in the 1950s as seen through a teenage photographer’s lens. South China Morning Post. Retrieved from http://www.scmp.com/news/hong-kong/article/1570201/photographer-ho-fans-pictures-old-hong-kong-go-display-new-hotel

3. demilked. (2014, August 27). 1950s Hong Kong Street Life Captured By Fan Ho. Retrieved from http://www.demilked.com/1950s-hong-kong-street-photography-ho-fan/

Fan Ho’s Publications
1. Hong Kong Yesterday
2. The Living Theatre
3. A Hong Kong Memoir

Other resources:
1. Fan Ho interview by Leica Liker
2. Evening with Fan Ho
3. Fan Ho – Inspiration from Masters of Photography
4. 1950’s Hong Kong inspires new photography series by Fan Ho
5. Fan Ho, Part II: Street scenes in dreamy colour 1954-2004
6. 1950s Hong Kong captured in street photography by Fan Ho
7. Fan Ho: finding love and light in 1950s Hong Kong – in pictures

Fan Ho (何藩)

Leave a comment